Wednesday 26 December 2012

Kumbh Mela 2013 - Meaning of Kumbh Mela, Differnet Types of Kumbha Melas.

Kumbh Mela is the mass Hindu Pilgrimage Festival which is celebrated at four different sacred locations(Allahabad, Haridwar, Ujjain and Nasik) in India depending on the position of Planet Jupiter and the Sun and perform holy bathing in holy rivers for purification from sins and re-birth. 
A view of the Banks of Triveni Sangam, AllahabadKumbh Mela 201
Meaning of Kumbh Mela
Kumbha Mela derives its name from the Immortalizing Pot of Nectar described in India's Ancient Scriptures(Puranas in Telugu Language). In the Sanskrit Language, Kumbh means "POT" or "JAR" and Mela means "FESTIVAL".

Kumbh Mela represents all the great Spiritual Cultures of India. Kumbha Mela has gained International Fame as "World's Largest Act of Faith".

Different Types of Kumbha Melas
There are three types of Kumbh Mela as 1)Ardh Kumbh Mela, 2)Purna Kumbh Mela and 3)Maha Kumbh Mela.
Ardh Kumbh Mela is celebrated once in every SIX years at Haridwar and Allahabad
Purna Kumbh Mela takes place every TWELVE years at four placed Allahabad, Haridwar, Ujjain and Nasik.
Maha(Great) Kumbh Mela comes after 12 Purna Kumbh Melas or 144 years and is celebrated in Allahabad only.

On what basis Kumbh Melas are being Celebrated in India...
All these Kumbha Melas will be celebrated at four different locations depending on the position of the Planet Bhruhaspati(Jupiter) and the Sun according to the calculations made from the Rig Veda.

When and Where the Kumbh Mela is Celebrated in India