Friday 24 October 2014

TTD Dhanurmasam Festival Celebrations 2014-2015 in Tirumala Temple. Importance of Tiruppavai Pasurams during Dhanurmasa.

Dhanurmasam Festival begins on December 16, 2014(Tuesday) in Sri Venkateswara Swamy Temple, Tirumala, and concludes on January 24, 2015(Saturday). During this festival period, the Suprabhata Seva will be replaced by Tiruppavai Pasurams inside the temple. 

Hence TTD will cancel the issuance of Suprabhata seva tickets from December 17, 2014 to January 24, 2015.

Significance of Dhanurmasam Festival in Tirumala Temple: 
It is believed that Goddess Sri Goda Devi who is great devotee of Lord Sri Venkateswara Swamy had written Tiruppavai in Tamil language. 

The Tiruppavai is a collection of 30 Stanzas(known as "Paasurams/pasurams") and these "Paasurams" also known as "Nachiyar" in praise of Lord Sri Venkateswara Swamy. It is a part of "Alwar Divya Prabandhan".

During Danurmasam on each day in the early morning each Tiruppavai Pasuram will be rendered infront of the Lord in Ekantha.

During this festival Tiruppavai Pasurams will be performed to the Lord in place of Suprabhata Seva in the early morning.  

This seva will be performed alone by the Temple Priests in the temple and Pilgrims will not be allowed for this Tiruppavai Parusams Seva.  

Lord Sri Krishna occupies the Golden Cot to sleep during this Dhanurmasa period[December-January] only, in Ekanta Seva and where as in remaining 11 months in a year, Sri Bogi Srinivasa Murthi(Silver Image of Main Deity(Mula Virat) occupies Golden Silk Cot to sleep in Ekanta Seva.  

Angapradakshinam Timings also will be changed in accordance with Tiruppavai Pasurams Seva. The new timings are 1:30am and pilgrims should report at 1:00am at Supadham (entrance gate for Angapradakshinam/Seva Tickets Holders ).

Note: TTD has changed the timings to issue ANGAPRADAKSHINA tickets in Tirumala. TTD issues tickets every day at 2pm instead of 6pm. The new timings came into effect from November 22, 2012 onwards. Pilgrims may kindly note the change.

This festival will also be celebrated by TTD in the following temples.
  1. Sri Kalyana Venkateswara Swamy Temple, Srinivasa Mangapuram,
  2. Sri Govindaraja Swamy Temple, Tirupati,
  3. Sri KodandaRama Swamy Temple, Tirupati,
  4. Sri Prasanna Venkateswara Swamy Temple, Appalaguntta, Chittor District. 

No comments: